New areavoices blog makes you the music critic!

When you work in the media you get used to people stopping you in the grocery store asking you about something they saw in the paper or on the TV station where you work. I’ve given my thoughts on “Do you think John, Daryl, and Rob are really right about that forecast?” and “What do you think about Walaker’s prediction about the river?”

I really enjoy talking to people about what I do for a living. It means they’re reading and watching, right? Gives me a sense of job security. But there are times when I’m never quite sure how I should respond. One time back when I was anchoring, a woman came up to me in the frozen food section and  told me she didn’t like it when I wore big earrings. Not long ago, a man came up to me in Walmart and said he didn’t like it when Dana and Kerstin called Kevin Wallevand “Kev.” 

Then there’s this one, “What is John Lamb/Robert Morast thinking?

If you’re not familiar with them, John and Robert do the majority of music and theatre reviews for The Forum and InForum. I think they’re amazingly talented writers and they certainly know more about music and theatre than I could ever pretend to know. Still not everyone agrees with their opinions. That’s the beauty of reviews, right? We can’t all like the same things can we? (For example, I still don’t understand why the “Mamma Mia” movie got panned. Except, for Pierce Brosnan’s questionable singing ability, I loved it.)

Anyway, to my point. InForum together with Jade Presents is giving you the opportunity to be the critic. They’ve set up FM’s Finest.