Help wanted: A blogger to write about military heroes

Photo courtesy: Omaha World Herald

Bill and Evonne Williams - Courtesy: Omaha World Herald

“Coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous” – Albert Einstein.

That is one of my all time favorite quotations and something I think about today as we approach Memorial Day and I look back on the coincidence of meeting 2 modern-day heroes who spend their days honoring heroes.

It happened a few years back while I was working on the Honor Flight project, an effort undertaken by WDAY to send area World War II veterans to the WWII Memorial in Washington DC free of charge. I had been working on the project for a few months when I got a call from a man named Bill Williams from Omaha, Nebraska. He said he and his wife Evonne were hoping to start an Honor Flight chapter down there. After visiting for a few minutes, I mentioned that my husband grew up just an hour outside of Omaha. When he asked where, I told him “Exira, Iowa.” But added that it’s a pretty small town and he had probably never heard of it. But not only had he heard of it, he used to live there as a kid when his dad was superintendent of schools. We knew some of the same people. In fact, one of his best friends was my husband’s gym teacher. Small world.

Turns out Bill and Evonne not only took our advice about how to do an Honor Flight project,  they soared with it. They raised 1.2 million dollars to send 1,500 Nebraska/Iowa WWII veterans to the memorial. But the Williams haven’t rested on that. These days they’ve formed Patriotic Productions to create and display “Remembering Our Fallen” a traveling photo exhibit honoring nearly 100 fallen Nebraska and Iowa soldiers. Read more about it in the Omaha-World Herald.